Ecowoman logo
Ecowoman logo

All articles

Why have I been charged twice when purchasing through the website?Updated 8 months ago

The double charge you are seeing on your bank account is an authorization. This is a common practice for banks to handle credit card transactions to ensure sufficient funds are available.


An authorization hold (also known as card authorization, pre-authorization or pre-authorization) is the practice within the banking industry of authorizing and validating funds for electronic transactions made with a debit or credit card.


Banking institutions "hold" this balance as unavailable in the individual account until the merchant completes the transaction (also called "settlement"), or the hold "drops". A "drop" is when banks make the balance available again on the individual's account. Debit card authorization holds can be cancelled anytime between 1 and 5 days after the transaction date, depending on the bank's policy. Credit card holds can last up to 30 days, depending on the issuing bank.


If after this time you still see the authorization amount as blocked, contact your bank or payment provider. If they confirm that an incorrect double charge has occurred, ask them to provide you with an official letter from the bank and contact us so that we can investigate and offer you a solution in the shortest possible time.

Was this article helpful?
Yes
No